Parliament to elect new President today (20)


Parliament is scheduled to convene today (20) at 10.00 AM to elect a new President.

The names of three Members of Parliament were proposed and seconded in the Parliament yesterday (19) for the vacancy of the Presidency, with the resignation of former President Gotabaya Rajapaksa. Accordingly, the names of Acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Member of Parliament Dullas Alahapperuma and Member of Parliament Anura Kumara Dissanayake were proposed.

Leave a reply