Canada imposes sanction on four Sri Lankans including Gotabaya and Mahinda


Canada has imposed sanctions on four Sri Lanka state officials, including former presidents Gotobaya Rajapaksa and Mahinda Rajapaksa, over alleged human rights violations during the island nation’s civil conflict from 1983 to 2009.

A statement published by the Canadian foreign ministry on Tuesday(Jan 10) accused the two Rajapaksa brothers, staff Sergeant Sunil Ratnayake and Lieutenant commander Chandana Prasad Hettiarachi of committing “gross and systematic violation of human rights” during the period the country was grappling with the armed conflict.

The sanctions will effectively freeze any assets that these four Sri Lankans may hold in Canada and render them inadmissible to Canada under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

The Canadian Government said the sanctions send a  clear message that it would not accept continued impunity for those that have committed gross human rights violations in Sri Lanka

Leave a reply